organizing

Resources

 

Our Favorite Organizing Products

Elfa closet system dramatically maximizes closet storage space

IKEA’s Helmer 6-drawer unit on casters provides ample storage for office necessities

InterDesign pantry bins keep bags of food, chips, and cereal organized and accessible

Desktop file is great for organizing mail and household papers

Under bed storage box is perfect for storing off-season clothes or children’s artwork

Really Useful Box with dividers keeps small toys and art supplies organized

Clear plastic shoe boxes corral EVERYTHING from nail polish to soap to belts to Barbie clothes

For even more great product ideas and suggestions, visit our Amazon page!

 
LIM Amazon Code.jpg
 


How Long to Keep Documents

Guidelines for Retention of Common Documents

How Long to Keep Financial Records
 

How to Stop Junk Mail

Easy app to stop junk mail and catalogs: www.PaperKarma.com

To manage credit card offers: www.OptOutPrescreen.com

To manage direct mail: www.DMAchoice.org

To eliminate deliveries of the Yellow Pages and White Pages: www.YellowPagesOptOut.com

To manage catalogs: www.CatalogChoice.org

To stop getting solicited by charities: CharityNavigator.com

 

Clothes:  What to Keep and Where to Sell

Wardrobe Editing Decision Tree

High-end designer consignment: www.LuxuryGarageSale.com

Sell your designer handbags: www.ReBagg.com
 

Recycle or Re-Home Anything

Real Simple Magazine: How to Recycle Almost Anything

Apps that help you find new owners for your stuff: Let Go! or OfferUP

When to Clean out Your Make-up Drawer

Dummies.com: How Long Should You Keep Your Make-up?
 

Where to Donate Your Stuff

Almost anything and will pick up:

Brown Elephant Resale Shop (Chicago): www.howardbrown.org

Lotus House (Miami): lotushouse.com

Miami Rescue Mission: www.miamirescuemission.com

Business attire:

Bottomless Closet: www.bottomlesscloset.org

Dress for Success, Miami: https://miami.dressforsuccess.org/get-involved/donate/

Books

Open Books Chicago: www.open-books.org

BooksFirst!: http://www.booksfirstchicago.org/how-you-can-help.html

Miami-Dade Public Library: www.friendsofmdpl.org

Bras

The Bra Recyclers: http://brarecycling.com/

Computers and electronics:

Free Geek Chicago: www.freegeekchicago.org

Best Buy: https://www.bestbuy.com

Coats:

One Warm Coat: https://www.onewarmcoat.org

Gift cards:

Gift Card Giver: http://plywoodpeople.com/gift-card-giver/

School supplies:

Upcycling Colors: https://upcyclingcolors.org

Stuffed animals: 

Stuffed Animals for Emergencies: https://stuffedanimalsforemergencies.org

American Girl dolls: http://girlagain.com/donate-dolls/

Elfa closet system

Really Useful Box with dividers

Desktop files

Clear plastic shoe boxes